Modifying democracy

Print edition : July 11, 2014

Prime Minister Narendra Modi with his Ministers at the swearing-in ceremony of the NDA government at Rashtrapati Bhavan on May 26. Rajnath Singh, Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitley, M. Venkaiah Naidu and Nitin Gadkari on in the front row. Photo: PTI

Modi taking a round in the PMO on May 29. Photo: PTI

Sanjeev Kumar Baliyan takes charge as Minister of State for Agriculture and Food Processing Industries at Krishi Bhavan in New Delhi on May 28. Baliyan is an accused in the 2013 riots in Muzaffarnagar. Photo: PTI

G.L. Singhal, the police officer who was suspended over the Ishrat Jahan case, was reinstated shortly after Modi became Prime Minister. Photo: PTI

To reduce the members of the Council of Ministers to ciphers is to subvert the Constitution. The trend has been set afoot.
    This article is closed for comments.
    Please Email the Editor