Cover Story: Manipur

Tightrope walk

Print edition : March 31, 2017

Supporters of the Congress celebrating in Imphal on March 11. With 28 seats, it is still the single largest party. Photo: Ritu Raj Konwar

Irom Sharmila, who secured only 90 votes. Photo: RITU RAJ KONWAR

BJP supporters celebrating the party's much increased vote share and 21 seats, in Imphal on March 11. Photo: Ritu Raj Konwar

The new government will have to balance two opposing demands that dominated the election process: to retain Manipur’s territorial integrity and to integrate all Naga-dominated areas.
    This article is closed for comments.
    Please Email the Editor