Nobel Prizes

Winners and losers

Print edition : December 27, 2013

An image provided by CERN showing a real CMS proton-proton collision in which four high-energy electrons (green lines and red towers) can be seen in a 2011 event. The event shows characteristics expected from the decay of a Higgs boson. Photo: CERN/AP

Francois Englert. Photo: Virginia Mayo/AP


By giving the 2013 Nobel Prize in Physics to only Francois Englert and Peter W. Higgs, the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences seems to be downplaying the contribution of scores of other theoretical and experimental physicists.
    This article is closed for comments.
    Please Email the Editor