A new platform

Print edition : March 07, 2014

In Parliament House on February 5, a meeting of leaders of non-BJP, non-Congress parties. (From left) Thambi Durai of the AIADMK, K.C.Tyagi of the JD(U), Deve Gowda of the JD(S), Sitaram Yechury of the CPI(M), Sharad Yadav of the JD(U), Ramgopal Yadav of the S.P. and Gurudas Dasgupta of the CPI. Photo: Rajeev Bhatt

CPI(M) genral secretary Prakash Karat addressing the media along with (from right) JD(S) leader H.D. Deva Gowda, AIFB leader Debabrata Biswas, and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar in New Delhi on February 10. Photo: Sandeep Saxena

AIADMK leader Jayalalithaa. Photo: PTI

S.P. supremo Mulayam Singh Yadav. Photo: V. Sudershan

BJD chief Naveen Patnaik. Photo: Rajeev Bhatt

A non-Congress, non-BJP grouping of 11 parties takes shape and positions itself as a viable, secular alternative to the two mainstream parties in the electoral race to govern India.
    This article is closed for comments.
    Please Email the Editor