United Nations

U.N. excludes Myanmar junta, Taliban for now

Published : December 02, 2021 17:22 IST

Myanmar's junta wants to replace the country's current ambassador with their own pick. Photo: REUTERS

The announcement means ambassadors from the former governments of Afghanistan and Myanmar will remain in their jobs.

A key United Nations committee has decided to delay action on requests by Myanmar's military junta and Afghanistan's Taliban rulers to take their countries' seats at the U.N. The announcement from the U.N. Credentials Committee means that ambassadors from the former governments of Myanmar and Afghanistan will remain in their jobs.

Who has Myanmar's junta appointed?

Myanmar's military junta is seeking to replace the country's current ambassador to the U.N., Kyaw Moe Tun, with army veteran Aung Thurein. Myanmar's junta seized power from civilian leader Aung San Suu Kyi's elected government in February, and has since put ousted officials on trial with various charges. Kyaw Moe Tun had opposed the coup against Suu Kyi. Foreign Minister Wunna Maung Lwin said in July that he had been terminated, although the envoy has asked for his U.N. accreditation to be renewed.

Who has Afghanistan's Taliban appointed?

The Taliban want to replace the ambassador representing the former Afghan government, Ghulam Isaczai, who has asked to keep his U.N. seat. Instead, they have appointed Mohammad Suhail Shaheen, who served as a Taliban spokesman during peace negotiations, for the position. The Taliban seized power in Afghanistan in mid-August and have since been seeking international recognition for their rule. U.N. Secretary-General Antonio Guterres said the Taliban's desire for recognition is the only leverage other countries have if they want to press for respect for human rights in Afghanistan.

Sweden's U.N. representative, Anna Karin Enestrom, said the committee's report will be made public "once it has been issued for the consideration of the general assembly." The committee is made up of three of the five permanent Security Council members: the United States, Russia and China. Other members include Sweden, the Bahamas, Bhutan, Chile, Namibia and Sierra Leone.

sdi/nm (AP, Reuters)

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor