The UGC Act, 1956

Published : Jul 17, 2009 00:00 IST

THE following are the two sections of the UGC Act of 1956 under which university status and deemed to be university status are conferred on institutions of higher education.

Section 2(f)

University means a university established or incorporated by or under a Central Act, a Provincial Act or a State Act, and includes any such institution as may, in consultation with the university concerned, be recognised by the University Grants Commission in accordance with the regulations made in this behalf under this Act.

The application of this Act to institutions for higher studies other than universities:

Section 3

The Central government may, on the advice of the UGC, declare, by notification in the Official Gazette, that any institution for higher education, other than a university, shall be deemed to be a university for the purposes of this Act, and on such a declaration being made, all the provisions of this Act shall apply to such institution as if it were a university within the meaning of clause (f) of Section 2.

Sign in to Unlock member-only benefits!
  • Bookmark stories to read later.
  • Comment on stories to start conversations.
  • Subscribe to our newsletters.
  • Get notified about discounts and offers to our products.
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment