Abandoning the social compact

Print edition : September 01, 2017

Prime Minister Narendra Modi chairing the first meeting of the Governing Council of NITI Aayog in New Delhi on February 8, 2015, along with Union Ministers Nitin Gadkari, Rajnath Singh and Arun Jaitley and the then newly appointed NITI Aayog Vice Chairman Arvind Panagariya. Photo: PTI

The building that houses NITI Aayog in New Delhi. Photo: Kamal Narang

August 3, 1961: Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru, flanked by Gulzari Lal Nanda and Morarji Desai, signing the Third Five-Year Plan document at Yojana Bhavan in New Delhi. Photo: THE HINDU ARCHIVES

June 12, 1956: K. Kamaraj, Chief Minister of Madras, inaugurates the first project in the Second Five-Year Plan at Meenkarai near Palakkad. Palakkad was part of Malabar district, which was in Madras Presidency until 1956. Photo: The Hindu Archives

At the Planning Commission meeting held in New Delhi to finalise the Fourth Five-Year Plan: Prime Minister Indira Gandhi, Ashok Mehta, Prof. P.C. Mahalanobis, Prof. M.S. Thacker, Tarlok Singh, V.K.R.V. Rao and S.G. Barve. Photo: THE HINDU ARCHIVES

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh with Deputy Chairman of the Planning Commission, Montek Singh Ahluwalia, during the Full Planning Commission Meeting on Education Sector for Eleventh Five Year Plan on September 13, 2007. Photo: S. Subramanium

The Planning Commission has been replaced by NITI Aayog, a pale shadow of it. Probity in economic policy and the pursuit of equity are the prime casualties of the change.
    This article is closed for comments.
    Please Email the Editor