Dynasty in democracy

Print edition : April 03, 2015

Jawaharlal Nehru.

Indira Gandhi.

Sanjay Gandhi. Photo: The Hindu Archives

Rajiv Gandhi. Photo: THE HINDU ARCHIVES

Sonia Gandhi. Photo: PTI

Rahul Gandhi.

Mujibur Rahman.

Sheikh Hasina.

Zia-ur Rahman.

Begum Khalida.

S.W.R.D. Bandaranaike.

Sirimavo Bandaranaike.

Chandrika Kumaratunga.

Zulfikar Ali Bhutto.

Benazir Bhutto.

Asif Ali Zardari.

Bilawal Bhutto.

In democracies governed by a dynasty, the leader is the prime fundraiser with control over the party machine and sees to it that the leading members remain divided. South Asia presents a vivid example of the baleful consequences of dynastic rule.

    Related Articles

    This article is closed for comments.
    Please Email the Editor