The probe series

Published : Sep 09, 2005 00:00 IST

HERE is a list of the various commissions and committees that inquired into the 1984 anti-Sikh riots in Delhi and related issues:

* Marwah Commission: Appointed in November 1984 and headed by Ved Marwah, Additional Commissioner of Police, it was asked to wind up operations in May 1985 following the setting up of the Misra Commission.

* R.C. Shrivaastav Committee: Set up to inquire into the police mechanism in order to prevent disturbances in the future. It submitted its report to the Centre in June 1985, recommended establishment of three more police sub-divisions and 25 more police stations. Government readily accepted the recommendations and allotted Rs.31 crores to implement them.

* G.S. Dhillon Committee: Set up by the Delhi administration to make suggestions regarding the payment of compensation and the rehabilitation of victims. It recommended the payment of Rs.10,000 to the kin of those killed, Rs.1,000 to those injured and Rs.5,000 to those whose houses were damaged. The administration accepted the claims relating to 2,427 deaths, cases of 2,403 injuries and 3,537 cases of damage to houses. The committee's recommendation to accept the insurance claims of the victims whose insured business establishments suffered damage was not accepted.

* Misra Commission: Appointed in May 1985, it was headed by Justice Ranganath Misra, sitting Judge of the Supreme Court. It inquired into allegations of organised violence in Delhi. Misra submitted the report in August 1986 and it was made public in February 1987. The commission recommended the formation of three more committees.

* R.K. Ahooja Committee: Headed by R.K. Ahooja, Home Secretary in the Delhi administration, and set up in February 1987 to ascertain the death toll in the riots. It arrived at the figure of 2,733, six months later.

* Kapoor-Mittal Committee: Appointed in February 1987 to inquire into the delinquencies and good conduct of police, it was headed by Justice Dalip Kumar Kapoor, former Chief Justice of the Delhi High Court, and Kusum Lata Mittal, retired Secretary to the Central government. Kapoor submitted a general report and Kusum Lata Mittal identified a dozen police officials who had done a creditable job, after three years. Kusum Lata Mittal recommended action against 72 police personnel and the dismissal of six officials.

* Jain-Banerjee Committee: Set up in February 1987 to recommend registration of cases, it was headed by Justice M.L. Jain, former Judge of Delhi High Court, and A.K. Banerjee, retired Inspector-General of Police. The committee recommended registration of cases against Sajjan Kumar, Congress Member of Parliament, in August 1987, but no case was registered. Sajjan Kumar's co-accused obtained a stay on the committee's functioning from the Delhi High Court. The High Court disbanded the committee in October 1989.

* Potti-Rosha Committee: Formed by the Janata Dal-led Central government in 1990, with Justice P.S. Poti, former Judge of the Gujarat High Court, and P.A. Rosha, retired Indian Police Service officer, as its members. It also recommended registration of cases against Sajjan Kumar. It examined over 1,000 affidavits and recommended 30 cases for prosecution. The Central Bureau of Investigation made an attempt to arrest Sajjan Kumar, but he managed to secure anticipatory bail. Poti and Rosha resigned, and the panel's term ended in October 1990.

* Jain-Aggarwal Committee: Justice J.D. Jain, retired Judge of the Delhi High Court, and D.K. Aggarwal, retired Director-General of Police, Uttar Pradesh, were the members. It recommended registration of 48 cases, including cases against Congress politicians such as H.K.L. Bhagat, Sajjan Kumar, Dharamdas Shastri and Jagdish Tytler. It wound up operation in August 1993 with no action being taken against those it named.

* Narula Committee: Appointed in December 1993 by the Madan Lal Khurana-led Bharatiya Janata Party government in Delhi. It submitted its report in January 1994, recommending registration of cases against Bhagat, Sajjan Kumar and Jagdish Tytler.

Sign in to Unlock member-only benefits!
  • Bookmark stories to read later.
  • Comment on stories to start conversations.
  • Subscribe to our newsletters.
  • Get notified about discounts and offers to our products.
Sign in


Comments have to be in English, and in full sentences. They cannot be abusive or personal. Please abide to our community guidelines for posting your comment