Assembly elections: Manipur

Opposing pulls

Print edition : April 14, 2017

Governor Najma HeptullaH administering the oath of office to Chief Minister N. Biren Singh in Imphal on March 15. Photo: PTI

Y. Joykumar of the National People's Party, who has been sworn in as the Deputy Chief Minister.

Okram Ibobi Singh, who was the Chief Minister of Manipur for 15 years, leaving the Congress office in Imphal on March 12. At that time the Congress, which is still the single largest party, was planning to stake its claim to form the government. Photo: Ritu Raj Konwar

The BJP has outmanoeuvred the Congress in the numbers game in Manipur, but conciliating the issues of Manipur’s territorial integrity and integration of Naga-inhabited areas continues to be a challenge.
    This article is closed for comments.
    Please Email the Editor