Assembly Elections: Tamil Nadu

Battle lines

Print edition : April 29, 2016

Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad (second, right) addressing the media with DMK treasurer M.K. Stalin after completing a seat-sharing agreement in Chennai on April 4. State Congress president E.V.K.S. Elangovan and Rajya Sabha member Kanimozhi are also seen. Photo: PTI

Leaders of the PWF: (From right), Thol. Thirumavalavan (VCK), Vaiko (MDMK), G. Ramakrishnan (CPI(M)) and R. Mutharasan (CPI) addressing the media in Chennai on April 6. Photo: R. RAGU

AIADMK candidates on their way to visit Chief Minister and party chief Jayalalithaa at her residence in Chennai on April 6. Photo: R. Senthil Kumar/PTI

The election scene hots up in Tamil Nadu, with the AIADMK announcing its candidates for 227 of the 234 seats and the DMK springing a surprise by making the Congress its alliance partner.
    This article is closed for comments.
    Please Email the Editor