Routes to the top

Print edition : June 06, 2003

Edmund Hillary's route during his first expedition to the Everest along with others. - GAMMA

May 29, 1953: Tenzing Norgay and Edmund Percival Hillary via the south-east ridge route.

May 25, 1960: Chinese team makes first summit of Everest via the north ridge.

May 22, 1963: The first ascent of the Everest west ridge (actually the west ridge/north face) by Willi Unsoeld and Tom Hornbein. They also achieved the first traverse, or complete crossing, of the mountain, descending by the south-east ridge/South Col.

September 24, 1975: Dougal Haston and Doug Scott summit via the south-west face.

May 13, 1979: Andrej Stremfelj and Jernej Zaplotnik reach the summit via the true west ridge and descend via the Hornbein couloir.

May 10, 1980: Tsuneoh Shigehiro and Takashi Ozaki make the first full ascent of the north face of Everest.

May 19, 1980: Jerzy Kukuczka and Andrzej Czok follow the south pillar on the right-hand edge of the south-west face.

August 20, 1980: Reinhold Messner via the North Col to the north face and the Great Couloir. He climbed alone for three days from his base camp at 6,500 meters without the use of artificial oxygen.

May 4, 1982: Eleven Russian climbers reach the summit via the south-west pillar left of the Great Central Gully on the south-west face.

October 8, 1983: Lou Reichardt, Kim Momb, and Carlos Buhler reach the summit via the east or Kangshung face.

October 3, 1984: Australians Tim Macartney-Snape and Greg Mortimer reach the summit via the North Couloir (north face to Norton Couloir) without bottled oxygen.

May 20, 1986: Sharon Wood becomes the first Canadian woman to summit Everest while climbing the new route of the west shoulder from the Rongbuk Glacier and on to the summit via the Hornbein Couloir.

May 12, 1988: Stephen Venables climbs a line to the left of the 1983 Kangshung face route, the east face - South Col - south-east ridge.

May 11, 1995: The first ascent of the north-east ridge completed by Kiyoshi Furuno, Shigeki Imoto, Dawa Tshering Sherpa, Pasang Sherpa, and Nima Sherpa.

May 20, 1996: The first ascent of the north - north-east Couloir by Peter Kuznetzov, Valeri Kohanov and Grigori Semikolenkov.

This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor