FIFA World Cup

Old order changeth

Print edition :

Croatia’s Mario Mandzukic scoring the winning goal against England in the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow on July 11. Photo: DARREN STAPLES/REUTERS

Members of the Russian team react as their goalkeeper makes a save that defeated Spain in the penalty shootout in the Round of 16 match at the Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow on July 1. Photo: Manu Fernandez/AP

France’s Zinedine Zidane (second from left) is hugged by teammates after he scored a goal at the Stade de France in Saint-Denis, near Paris, in the 1998 Football World Cup final match between Brazil and France on July 12, 1998. Photo: GABRIEL BOUYS/AFP

No team is invincible anymore. The 2018 FIFA World Cup has given hope to smaller teams that nothing is impossible.
    This article is closed for comments.
    Please Email the Editor