Cover Story: Uttarakhand

Decisive mandate

Print edition : March 31, 2017

Shyam Jaju (seond, right), in charge of the BJP in Uttarakhand, along with former Chief Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal Nishank (third from right) celebrating the party's victory in Dehradun. Photo: PTI

Harish Rawat at a media conference after the Congress' defeat, in Dehradun. Photo: PTI

The BJP gets a three-fourths majority, winning 57 seats in the 70-member Assembly, and the ruling Congress is reduced to a very weak opposition with just 11 seats.
    This article is closed for comments.
    Please Email the Editor