Saffron stranglehold

Print edition : June 07, 2019

Maharashtra Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis and Shiv Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray addressing a joint press conference in Mumbai after the Lok sabha election results on May 23. Photo: Emmanual Yogini

Girish Bapat of the BJP, who won thr Pune seat. Photo: PTI

Jai Siddheshwar Shivacharya Mahaswamiji of the BJP. He defeated senior Congress leader Sushil Kumar Shinde in Solapur constituency. Photo: Special Arrangement

Supriya Sule wins in Baramati. The constituency is the NCP chief Sharad Pawar’s stronghold. Photo: PTI

Sujay Vikhe Patil of the BJP wins in Ahmednagar. Photo: Vivek Bendre

Nitin Gadkari of the BJP, elected from Nagpur. Photo: Sandeep Saxena

Ashok Chavan of the Congress lost in Nanded. Photo: Vivek Bendre

Milind Deora of the Congress lost in Mumbai South. Photo: SHIV KUMAR PUSHPAKAR

Priya Dutt of the Congress lost in Mumbai North Central. Photo: SHASHI ASHIWAL

The BJP-Sena combine wins 41 of the 48 seats and tightens its grip on the State, leaving the Congress and the NCP wondering how to return to relevance.
    This article is closed for comments.
    Please Email the Editor